My First Glossy Box Subscription

PSX_20160517_022830_resized

Hello bea-uties,

Ok so I laugh at myself now because a few years ago I wasn’t such a beauty fan. All I knew was foundation, a bit of powder and that was literally it. Cue a few Youtube videos alter and I’m hooked!! Even when I don’t need to I find myself happily waltzing into Superdrugs or Boots, or online to ease my beauty cravings.

When beauty boxes first surfaced I wasn’t that bothered. They seemed interesting enough all right but I just wasn’t hooked. And I think that was because I was still developing my desire to be more beauty conscious (chuckles) and I’m still developing it.

There are now tons of beauty boxes around both in the UK and some that I’ve found in the US and further afield. And so the more I see one beauty box after another, the more intrigued I became. But still I wasn’t convinced it was something I wanted to sign up to. On a recent scan of Google I came across an article that was listing the top 10 beauty box subscriptions in the UK and Glossy Box was number 2.

I believe for two days I scrolled this article up and down reading the writers review and clicking the links that lead directly to each beauty box’s web page. I’m telling you I did a thorough research as if I was about writing a dissertation or something. Finally I succumbed and fell head over for Glossy Box. Why Glossy Box? Not because the writer had listed them at number 2 (for I assumed that was just her opinion, but then reasoned that this brand must certainly be special).

I loved the Glossy Box website, loved the packaging, loved the cute crown-esqu logo – but most of all and because I’m a bargain hunter, the price at only £10 a month was perfect for me because I wasn’t spending too much on a product I wasn’t sure whether I was going to like or not. I think for 5 products the price is very good as obviously combined they are worth much more.

PSX_20160517_021142_resizedPSX_20160517_021207_resizedPSX_20160517_021247_resizedPSX_20160517_021319_resizedPSX_20160517_022652_resized

So my first box arrived and the contents inside weren’t what I’d usually rush out to buy, however I do like trying out new things and this was a starter box so I definitely had high hopes for the next box.

My two fav products were the Leighton Denny Miracle Mist speed drying nail polish spray – as if the lovely peeps at Glossy knew that I was completely hopeless at applying and keeping my polish in place without smudging it within seconds.

And then the Nails Inc nail polish was a sort of bubble gum pink (sorry I didn’t quite get the name of the colour, although something was written on the bottom quite faintly that I couldn’t read very well).

I also love that it comes with a little info card that tells you what products you’re getting inside. I’m quite impressed and can’t wait to show you my second Glossy Box (the city edition – I won’t spoil the fun and give away which city I got, but I can tell you I was well chuffed with the contents).

So, here’s what was in my starter box….

PSX_20160517_022628_resized
Leighton Denny Miracle Mist – speed drying spray for nails
PSX_20160517_022600_resized
Nails Inc polish
P1210871
So Susan Haute Light highlighting pencil
P1210864
Studio 10 Brow Lift Perfecting Liner
P1210863
-417 Catharsis Vitamin Mineral Shampoo

 

 

2 thoughts on “My First Glossy Box Subscription

Leave a Reply

